
About North Carolina Roads
Statistics compiled from 2019 data

State-Maintained Roads......................Miles
	 Interstate Routes............................... 1,348.78	
       Interstate Business Routes.....................61.31
	 U.S. Routes.........................................5,576.60
	 N.C. Routes..........................................8,177.62
	 State Secondary Routes.............. 64,996.93
		  Total  80,161.24

Non-State-Maintained Roads
	 City-Maintained Streets................ 23,276.75
	 Other State Agency Roads............... 866.68	
        Federal Agency Roads.................... 3,338.41
		  Total  27,481.84

Total Public Road Mileage	 107,643.08
Longest Primary Route — U.S. 64
	 560 miles through 24 counties from the 
	 Tennessee state line to the Outer Banks

Shortest Primary Route — N.C. 400
	 0.87 mile in Manteo, Dare County

Rules of the Road
MOVE OVER AND FENDER BENDER LAWS. 
When passing emergency vehicles with 
flashing lights on the shoulder of the 
highway (including public service vehicles 
with amber lights), move over one lane, if 
possible, or reduce speed. Violating the 
law could result in a $250 fine and court 
costs. If you are in a minor, non-injury 
fender bender, move your vehicle to the 
shoulder of the road. Violating the law 
could result in a $110 fine and court costs.

CELL PHONES. Use by drivers younger 
than 18 is prohibited except in the 
case of an emergency or when talking 
to a parent or spouse. Violators 
pay a $25 fine plus court costs. 

TEXTING. North Carolina prohibits ALL 
drivers from texting or reading a text 
message while a vehicle is in motion. It is 
allowed if the vehicle is stopped or parked. 
Violators can be fined $100 plus court costs.

HEADLIGHTS. Required from sunset to 
sunrise when light conditions restrict 
visibility to 400 feet or less and while 
operating windshield wipers during 
inclement weather. Motorcycles must 
have headlights on at all times. 

RIGHT TURN ON RED. Permitted after a 
complete stop, unless otherwise posted.

PEDESTRIAN CROSSINGS. Drivers 
must yield to pedestrians crossing the 
road in a marked crosswalk. At traffic 
signals, pedestrians must follow the 
“Walk” and “Don’t Walk” signals.

HELMETS. A helmet built to Federal 
Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 
218 is required by law when riding 
on a motorcycle or moped. Children 
up to age 16 are required to wear 
a helmet while riding a bicycle.

CLICK IT OR TICKET—EVERY SEAT. 
EVERY TIME. IT’S THE LAW. All occupants 
(drivers, front and back seat passengers) 
are required by law to wear seat belts. A 
size-appropriate child restraint is required 
for children age 7 and under or less than 
80 pounds. Seat belt violators face ticket 
fines and court fees as well as possible 
driver license revocation, points and 
insurance points. Visit clickitorticket.org.

BOOZE IT & LOSE IT. In North Carolina, it 
is illegal to drive a vehicle while impaired 
(by any mind-altering substance) or 
with an alcohol concentration of 0.08% 
or higher. A Driving While Impaired 
(DWI) conviction can cost a driver jail 
time and, in some cases, court fees 
that top $10,000. Visit ncdps.gov.

LITTER. Established in 1988, the Adopt-
A-Highway Program helps decrease the 
amount of litter on the state’s roadsides 
and improves environmental beauty, 
quality and safety. Roadsides are available 
for adoption in all 100 North Carolina 
counties. Businesses, individuals and 
other organizations can also participate in 
the state’s Sponsor-A-Highway initiative. 
Drivers are encouraged to help keep 
roadways clear of trash by not littering. 

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES. The 
Division of Motor Vehicles provides driver 
and vehicle services, including vehicle titling 
and registration, driver licenses, REAL 
IDs and identification cards, maintenance 
of driver records, compilation of crash 
statistics and enforcement of state and 
federal laws that regulate motor vehicle 
operations, theft, sales and inspections. 
Visit ncdot.gov/dmv or MyNCDMV.gov to 
take advantage of DMV’s online services.

WORK ZONE SAFETY. NCDOT reminds 
motorists to “Drive Smart. Do Your Part.” 
when traveling through the state’s work 
zones. As conditions in a work zone can 
change quickly, it is especially important 
for motorists to pay attention and reduce 
speed through these areas. The penalty 
for speeding in a designated work zone 
is $250 plus three driver license points.

N.C. STATE HIGHWAY PATROL. Call one of 
the toll-free numbers or dial *HP (*47) from 
your cellular phone in an emergency. Visit 
drivenc.gov or call 511 for travel conditions.

Highway Patrol Communications Centers
Asheville	 1-800-445-1772, Troop G
Elizabethtown	 1-800-334-7411, Troop B
Greensboro	 1-800-445-8621, Troop D
Monroe	 1-800-572-8765, Troop H
Newton	 1-800-445-1779, Troop F 
Raleigh	 1-800-662-7956, Troop C
Salisbury	 1-800-233-3151, Troop E
Williamston	 1-800-441-6127, Troop A1,000,000 copies of this public document were printed at a cost of $265,000, or $0.265 per copy. (03/21)

Answers: 72; Main Street; 10 minutes

DriveNC.gov 
Get real-time traffic information

How many public 
airports are in 
North Carolina?

What is the  
most common 
state-maintained 
street name?  

How long  
does it take a 
parked car to heat 
up 20 degrees? 

If your vehicle stalls on 
railroad tracks, get out 
and call the number on the 
blue and white sign posted 
on the crossing gate.

ROAD
CLOSED

It’s against the law to move 
or go around barricades.

If your car breaks down, pull over. Exit through 
the passenger-side door and stand far away 
from traffic or behind the guardrail.

Be cautious while 
using lanes where 
trucks may be 
entering or leaving 
the roadway in 
construction zones. 

TRANSPORTATION TRIVIASAFETY TIPS

TRUCKS
ENTERING
HIGHWAY

If your car skids on 
ice or snow, turn 
the front wheels in 
the same direction 
that the rear of the 
vehicle is sliding.

It is illegal to 
walk or take 
photos on 
railroad tracks.


