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A tribal dancer performs at the Cherokee Indian 
Village in the Great Smoky Mountains.

The Motor Vessel W. Stanford White carries passengers 
between Hatteras and Ocracoke along the Outer Banks.

Peanut crop in Harnett County. North Carolina is the fifth 
largest producer of peanuts in the U.S.
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The privately owned U.S. National Whitewater Center 
along the Catawba River in Charlotte is home to the 

world’s largest man-made whitewater river.

Art That Moves You, an initiative of Governor Pat McCrory, uses 
texture, landscaping, original artwork and lighting to improve 
infrastructure, bridges and gateways through private and public 
collaboration to promote tourism and economic development.

North Carolina offers a backdrop of beauty from mountains to 
sea, but the charm of North Carolina is also its people and their 
creativity, innovation and hard work. Art That Moves You strives to 
enhance infrastructures with creative aesthetics throughout the 
state so North Carolina can shine.

About North Carolina Roads
Statistics compiled from 2014 data.

State-Maintained Roads.......................Miles
	 Interstate Routes..................................... 1,257
	 Interstate Business Routes......................... 70
	 U.S. Routes............................................... 5,566
	 N.C. Routes............................................... 8,170
	 State Secondary Routes........................ 64,522
		  Total  79,585

Non-State-Maintained Roads
	 City-Maintained Streets........................ 22,530
	 Other State Agency Roads......................... 819
	 Federal Agency Roads............................. 3,377
		  Total  26,725

Total Public Road Mileage................ 106,202
Longest Primary Route — U.S. 64
	 565 miles through 24 counties from the 
	 Tennessee state line to the Outer Banks

Shortest Primary Route — N.C. 400
	 0.87 mile in Manteo, Dare County
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For more information on North Carolina’s river basins, or to 
order a river basin poster, visit eenorthcarolina.org.

North Carolina’s River Basins

Rules of the Road
“MOVE OVER” AND “FENDER 
BENDER” LAWS. When passing an 
emergency vehicle, tow truck or a 
utility vehicle with flashing lights on the 
highway shoulder, “move over” one lane, 
if possible, or reduce speed. Violation 
could result in a $500 fine plus court 
costs. If you are in a minor, non-injury 

“fender bender,” move your vehicle to 
the shoulder of the road. Violation 
results in a fine plus court costs.

CELL PHONES. Cell phone use by 
drivers younger than 18 is prohibited 
except in the case of an emergency 
or when talking to a parent or spouse. 
Violators pay a $25 fine plus court costs. 

TEXTING. Texting or sending email, or 
reading texts or email while operating 
a vehicle on a public street or highway 
is prohibited. It is allowed if the vehicle 
is stopped or parked. Violators can 
be fined $100 plus court costs.

HEADLIGHTS. Required from sunset 
to sunrise, when light conditions restrict 
visibility to 400 feet or less, and while 
operating windshield wipers during 
inclement weather. Motorcycles must 
have headlights on at all times. 

RIGHT TURN ON RED. Permitted after a 
complete stop, unless otherwise posted.

TRAFFIC CRASHES. Traffic crashes 
involving death, personal injury or 
property damage of $1,000 or more 
must be reported to the nearest law 
enforcement officer or agency. Not 
doing so may result in prosecution 
and/or driver license suspension.

HELMETS. A helmet built to Federal 
Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 
218 is required by law when riding 
on a motorcycle or moped. Children 
up to age 16 are required to wear 
a helmet while riding a bicycle.

SAFETY BELTS AND CAR SEATS. 
All vehicle occupants are required 
to wear seat belts. Children under 
age 8 and weighing less than 80 
pounds must be secured in a child 
restraint device. Older children must 
transition to booster seats before 
using an adult safety belt. Violations 
of these laws will cost at least $161 
plus two points on your driver license. 
Remember, “Click It or Ticket.” For more 
information, visit clickitorticket.org.

DRIVING WHILE IMPAIRED. Motorists 
with a blood-alcohol concentration at or 
greater than 0.08 percent are charged 
with DWI. First convictions will result in 
suspension of license for at least one 
year, a fine and possible imprisonment. 
Drivers with prior DWI convictions may 
be subject to punishment as a felon, 
and their vehicle may be seized and 
sold. “Booze It & Lose It.” For more 
information, visit boozeitandloseit.org.

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES. The 
Division of Motor Vehicles provides driver 
and vehicle services, including vehicle 
titling and registration, driver licenses 
and identification cards, maintenance 
of driver records, compilation of crash 
statistics and enforcement of state 
and federal laws that regulate motor 
vehicle operations, theft, sales and 
inspections. Visit ncdot.gov/dmv to 
take advantage of DMV’s online services.

WORK ZONE SAFETY. NCDOT reminds 
motorists to “Drive Smart. Do Your Part.” 
when traveling through the state’s work 
zones. As conditions in a work zone can 
change quickly, it is especially important 
for motorists to pay attention and reduce 
speed through these areas. The penalty 
for speeding in a designated work zone 
is $250 plus three driver license points.

N.C. STATE HIGHWAY PATROL. 
Call one of the toll-free numbers 
or dial *HP (*47) from your cellular 
phone in an emergency. CALL 511 
FOR TRAVEL CONDITIONS.

Highway Patrol 
Communications Centers
Asheville	 1-800-445-1772, Troop G
Elizabethtown	1-800-334-7411, Troop B
Greensboro	 1-800-445-8621, Troop D
Monroe	 1-800-572-8765, Troop H
Newton	 1-800-445-1779, Troop F 
Raleigh	 1-800-662-7956, Troop C
Salisbury	 1-800-233-3151, Troop E
Williamston	 1-800-441-6127, Troop A
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