## Approval – Resolution for Orville and Kent Coward

Upon the recommendation of the Road Naming Committee, a motion was made by Board

Member Kernea, seconded by Board Member Wall, to approve the following resolution:

**WHEREAS,** Orville D. Coward began law practice 61 years ago in Sylva, North Carolina, and Kent Coward began his practice in 1957 and practiced until his death in 1989; and

**WHEREAS**, the brothers have been longtime valuable residents of North Carolina as lawyers and advocates for the people of Jackson County; and

**WHEREAS**, they both were instrumental in obtaining funds for the rebuilding of NC 107; and

**WHEREAS**, Orville D. Coward was responsible for securing funds for the construction of the John Bardo Fine and Performing Arts Center at Western Carolina University and the federal funds for The Center for Applied Technology; and

**WHEREAS,** Orville D. Coward served on the University of North Carolina Board of Governors for one term and the Western Carolina University Board of Trustees for three terms; and

**WHEREAS**, Orville D. Coward was called upon by Governor Jim Martin to resurrect the Murphy branch of the Southern Railway, which became the Great Smoky Mountain Railway; and

WHEREAS, Orville D. Coward was inducted into the North Carolina Bar Hall of Fame in 2007; and

**WHEREAS,** Kent Coward served on the North Carolina Board of Economic Development, and helped develop the Great Smoky Mountain Railway; and

**WHEREAS**, Kent Coward helped found Southwestern Technical Institute (later Southwestern Community College) and served as Chairman of the Board of Trustees; and

**WHEREAS**, Kent Coward was one of the co-authors of the *The History of Jackson County*.

## Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved:

That the North Carolina Board of Transportation name the portion of N.C. Highway 107 from the Walter T. Middleton Bridge at Tuckasegee to its intersection with U.S. 64 in Cashiers the *Orville and Kent Coward Highway*.

That appropriate signs be erected at a suitable time.

Adopted, this the sixth day of September 2012 by the North Carolina Board of Transportation.