Approval – Resolution for Hoyt Patrick Taylor, Jr.

Upon the recommendation of the Road Naming Committee, a motion was made by Board

Member Collett, seconded by Board Member Perkins, to approve the following resolution:

WHEREAS, Hoyt Patrick Taylor, Jr. was born on April 1, 1924, in Wadesboro, North Carolina and went on to receive a bachelor's degree in 1945 and a law degree in 1948 for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; and

WHEREAS, Pat Taylor, Jr. served in the United States Marine Corps during World War II and also the Korean War; and

WHEREAS, Pat Taylor, Jr. served with honor and distinction in the North Carolina House of Representatives for six consecutive terms between 1955-1966; and

WHEREAS, Pat Taylor, Jr. served as Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina from 1969-1973; and

WHEREAS, during the 1972 Democratic National Convention, Pat Taylor, Jr. was among those who received votes for the Vice-Presidential nomination; and

WHEREAS, Pat Taylor, Jr. has served on various boards and committees, including the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina, a member of the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Chair of the Board of Trustees of Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina, and a Director of Anson Bank and Trust Company and was a Rotarian and 32nd Degree Mason; and

WHEREAS, the Anson County Board of Commissioners acknowledges with gratitude the distinguished service he has provided to his community, state and nation, request a portion of US Highway 74 within the limits of Wadesboro be named to honor Pat Taylor, Jr.

Now, Therefore, Be IT Resolved:

That the North Carolina Board of Transportation dedicates the portion of US 52 starting at the town limits of the Town of Wadesboro and extending five miles north as the *H. Patrick Taylor, Jr. Highway*.

That appropriate signs be erected at a suitable time.

Adopted, this the sixth day of December 2012 by the North Carolina Board of Transportation.